The hungry traveler on meat

Lately in class we’ve been talking about the ethics behind eating meat. Most of these discussions include talks about the ethical and voluntary reasons we choose to eat or to not eat meat. Over the years I have considered whether or not meat is ethical to eat or not. My family thought I could have easily been a vegetarian because of my love for a good salad or some mixed vegetables. Personally I eat meat for two reasons. Reason one being that I am an athlete. I need to eat meat to help my body recover from hard training sessions as well as increase in size and speed. Without protein in my diet I would have a lot of trouble improving in my sport. The second reason is that I enjoy a good steak or lamb every once an awhile. Whether it’’s cooking it myself or sitting down at a good restaurant a steak or lamb is always a satisfying. One thing that people don’t know about me is that I really enjoy cooking. One of my favorite meals that I can make is a hamburger with blue berry mayonnaise, arugula and cheese. From a chefs standpoint meat can be easily complimented with a variety of fruits and vegetables. Although I do eat meat I am beginning to slowly stop eating pork. Will a good piece of crispy bacon is relaxing in the morning food such as hot dogs are made up of random pieces of the animal. To me this is highly unappetizing not knowing exactly which part of the animal I am eating. Eventually I hope to stop eating pork all together.

Leave a comment