functional food

This past semester in Florence I was challenged to write my first research papers. Since having my high school education in many different countries I was never really had the opportunity to right a research paper. This new experience was challenging with my first paper but I believe that I am beginning to get use to it. My latest paper has been about functional foods and whether or not they actually hold any nutritional benefit. If they did hold any nutritional value what good could they do? Functional food is food that has additional vitamins added to it. Normally different juices, or cereals will promise health benefits to the consumer. The problem within this is the fine print. While it does say it has more health benefits they are an extremely small amount. For instance, quaker oatmeals cereal says that their product helps to lower cholesterol. This is caused by an “increased amount of fiber in their food.” Once reading the find print we discover that the quaker oatmeal only contains a third of the daily amount of fiber to  reduce heart disease. Another example would be grape juice. While we think it is 100% juice as, said on the label, it actually contains more sugar than a candy bar.  These functional foods are clearly a bundle of lies used as a marketing scheme for companies to sell more products. One of the problems that I have met in writing this paper was a difficulty in finding good sources from which I could quote. Luckily, I had some help from my professor, Dr. Campisi, who helped me to find a couple of good articles which helped me to revamp my paper. At the moment I am close to being done and I look forward to reading over the final product.  

Leave a comment